Disappointment & lack of trust but balls chained

In my relatively short time in the universe I have banked with four banks. SPRON, Landsbankinn and Kaupthing in Iceland and Citizens & Northern Bank in Pennsylvania.

The money my grandparents gave me as a gift when I was baptised disappeared in SPRON because the government of Iceland could not curb inflation in the early eighties. 

I will pay the student loans I got at Landsbankinn early in this decade a couple of times over because the government of Iceland could not curb inflation.

The home loan I got at Kaupthing has grown by 16% in two years because the government of Iceland could not curb inflation. It will have doubled within a decade. 

I did not have any trouble banking at Citizen’s & Northern. No money disappeared there and no debts grew exponentially.

I went to the bank today and withdrew part of my pension. In the current economic situation I don’t trust Icelandic banks, an Icelandic government or an Icelandic currency to keep my money safe for when I grow older.  

If a girlfriend had put me through such a disappointing relationship as the Icelandic banks and society have, I would have broken up with her a long time ago. 

But in this relationship my balls are safely chained to the floor.

0 Responses to “Disappointment & lack of trust but balls chained”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment