Iceland’s disposable class

 I went down to the immigration office last week to finally get my permanent residency permit. But I was horrified when the woman behind the glass partition told me the laws had been changed and I would not be eligible for a permanent residency permit—in fact, I would not be eligible for any permit.

Despite the fact that I am in a registered relationship with an Icelandic citizen, own a house and car here and have been an active taxpayer for the last six years, I am no longer needed. Because it is best for the economy if all the superfluous people left the country, my life here is being revoked. Canceled. Return to sender. Go back to wherever you came from.

From Iceland Review

 

1 Response to “Iceland’s disposable class”


  1. 1 Stan Hirson February 20, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    An example of “Það er skammgóður vermir að pissa í skóna sína”.


Leave a Reply

